Skip to main content Skip to page footer

Catcalling campaign Leipzig

On behalf of Stadt Leipzig – Ordnungsamt
Period 2023
  • Conception
  • Creation

No room for catcalling! Initiated by the youth parliament and in cooperation with the public order office of the city of Leipzig, we are getting loud together. Loud against sexual harassment in public spaces and loud for safe routes for everyone! Our task here was to conceptualize and design a poster campaign that draws attention to the issue of catcalling with four different poster motifs and meaningful claims.

Show the problem

Approach

Unwanted sexual comments, whistling or suggestive gestures in public spaces are known as catcalling and often lead to fear and discomfort among those affected. Women in particular are the target of this assaultive behavior. In a multi-stage process involving anonymous surveys with those affected and content analysis workshops, we worked with stakeholders from the City of Leipzig's public order office to develop four claims that are aimed directly at the perpetrators and address situations in which those affected sometimes find themselves on a daily basis.

Giving a visible voice

Our solution

The campaign is particularly loud due to the direct claims aimed at the perpetrators. The claims are graphically accompanied by four different motifs that use a reduced design language and eye-catching colors to depict the spatial restrictions of those affected. The aim: to raise awareness and encourage a rethink - for a safe city for everyone.

“With the motifs of our campaign, we are addressing the consequences for those affected in a way that is recognizable to every passenger. The focus is on subliminal, physical, verbal or other non-physical forms of sexual harassment in public spaces”

Heiko Rosenthal – Mayor and Councillor for Environment, Order and Sport of the City of Leipzig

Reaching the goal together

Learnings and insights

For us designers, interdisciplinary work with stakeholders from different specialist areas is not only particularly valuable, but also indispensable when it comes to sensitive topics such as this. In the joint workshops, we combined our respective skills and experiences, learned from each other and came up with a result that aims to involve, raise awareness and unite people.

Direct contact for Illustration & Campaigns

Franziska Wander

Not enough yet?

Skip to main content Skip to page footer

Catcalling­kampagne Leipzig

Im Auftrag des Stadt Leipzig – Ordnungsamt
Zeitraum 2023
  • Konzeption
  • Kreation

Kein Raum für Catcalling! Angestoßen vom Jugendparlament und in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Ordnungsamt der Stadt Leipzig werden wir gemeinsam laut. Laut gegen sexuelle Belästigung im öffentlichen Raum und laut für sichere Wege für alle! Unser Aufgabenbereich lag hierbei in der Konzeption und Gestaltung einer Plakatkampagne, die durch vier verschiedene Plakatmotive und aussagekräftigen Claims, Aufmerksamkeit auf das Thema Catcalling lenkt.

Problematik zeigen

Herangehensweise

Unerwünschte sexuelle Bemerkungen, Pfeifen oder anzügliche Gesten im öffentlichen Raum wird Catcalling genannt und führt oft zu Angst und Unbehagen bei den Betroffenen. Insbesondere Frauen sind Zielscheibe für dieses übergriffige Verhalten. Gemeinsam mit Akteur:innen des Ordnungsamtes der Stadt Leipzig haben wir in einem mehrstufigen Prozess aus anonymen Umfragen mit Betroffenen und inhaltlichen Analyseworkshops, vier Claims erarbeitet, die sich direkt an die Täter:innen richten und Situationen aufgreifen, in denen sich Betroffene teilweise täglich wiederfinden.

Sichtbare Stimme geben

Unser Ansatz

Laut wird die Kampagne vor allem durch die direkten Claims, die sich an die Täter:innen richten. Grafisch begleitet werden die Claims dabei durch vier verschiedene Motive, die in reduzierter Formsprache und auffälligen Farben, die räumliche Einschränkung der Betroffenen situativ darstellen. Das Ziel: Aufmerksamkeit wecken und Umdenken anregen – für eine sichere Stadt für alle.

„Mit den Motiven unserer Kampagne greifen wir, erkennbar für jeden Fahrgast, die Konsequenzen für Betroffene auf. Im Brennpunkt stehen unterschwellige, körperliche, verbale oder andere nicht körperliche Formen sexueller Belästigung im öffentlichen Raum“

Heiko Rosenthal – Bürgermeister und Beigeordneter für Umwelt, Ordnung, Sport der Stadt Leipzig

Gemeinsam zum Ziel

Learnings und Erkenntnisse

Für uns Gestalter:innen ist die interdisziplinäre Arbeit mit Akteur:innen aus verschiedenen Fachbereichen bei sensiblen Thematiken wie dieser nicht nur besonders wertvoll, sondern auch unverzichtbar. In den gemeinsamen Workshops haben wir unsere jeweiligen Kompetenzen und Erfahrungen verknüpft, voneinander gelernt und sind zu einem Ergebnis gekommen, das Menschen einbeziehen, aufmerksam machen und vereinen möchte.

Ansprechpartnerin für Illustration & Kampagnen

Franziska Wander

Noch nicht genug?